Bunts Mathr Sangha

First meeting of Bunts Vidyarthi Sangha in Mangalore [ 1906-1907 ]

In the beginning of the 20th century, it was a simple thought that led to the formation of the now formidable Bunts alias nadava sangha. A visionary realisation by our elders that 'education' will play a stellar role in the all round development of the community, had set the ball rolling. The architects of the vision were men of impeccable integrity with a 'Commendable presence 'in the rural society. Discharging their socio-cultural responsibilities, they realized much ahead of their times on the necessity of integrating the community with the changing dynamic social setup. Well aware of the fact that a community's prosperity depends on education, and knowing well that if the community had to achieve prosperity, its each member had to be educated, they committed themselves to the onerous task of building student hostels in prominent towns, cities, which citadels of education.


First office bearers:

 President:                 Attavara Devappa Poonja

 Vice President:          Kodialguttu Krishna Sulaya

 Secretary:                 B. Mahabal Hegde

 Treasurer:                 Attavara Balakrishna Shetty


Executive committee members:

 1.   Thenkumane Mahabaleshwara Shetty

 2.   Badagabettu ramayya Hegde

 3.   Marakadaguttu Appayya Shetty

 4.   Attavara Thimmappa Poonja

 5.   Kodialguttu Ramayya Hegde

 6.   Ammunje Manjayya Shetty

 7.   B.Manjappa Bhandary

 8.   Rama Shetty

  Three days after the first general meeting, the Association was registered in 1908 July 10, as under the rules of then Madras Government.


Past Presidents:

 1.   Attavara Devappa Poonja

 2.   A. ramayya Poonja

 3.   Vakil K Shyam Shetty

 4.   Rao Bahaddoor Kodialguthu Thimmappa Alva

 5.   B. Manjayya Hegde

 6.   Aerya Laxminarayana Alva

 7.   Nitte Mohandas Adyanthaya

 8.   K. Sathishchandra Hegde

 9.   A. Sadananda Shetty

 10.   Kodialguthu Ajith Kumar Rai Maladi

 11.   Shreenath Hegde

 12.   K. Amarnath Shetty


Present Office Bearers:

 President:                 Maladi Ajith Kumar Rai

 Vice President:      Kenchanoor Somashekar Shetty

 Secretary:                 Meghanath Shetty

 Treasurer:                 K Manmohan Shetty

 Joint Secretary:     A. Hemanath Shetty


Executive Committe Members 2013- 2016

In the year in 2002, after an amendment, the Bantara Yane Nadavara Sangha has been renamed as 'Bantara Yane Nadavara Mathru Sangha. A holistic glance, at the functioning of the association for the past 9 decades, reflects a unequivocal truth, that the vision education-for-all members in the community has been nearly achieved.

In 1987, as a result of efforts to bring all outside Bunt's associations on a single platform, the federation of global bunts meet was held. The association annually disbures Scholarship and help to poor students from the endowments set up by personalities. During the every annual meeting, members in recognitions of their contributions are felicitated.

The association has always strived to the all-round development of community in various avenues and will continue to do so.